Found Things – Writing Prompt

April 1, 2010 at 5:08 am 4 comments

Oh, it’s been too long, dear friends, and what jarred me out of my slump?  A quick dash this morning to the community dumpster with my little bag of refuse, I slid open the door and there was a crate of partially drunk bottles of liquor, ranging from Meyers Rum to a 15 year old bottle of scotch.  The crate was stamped with an exotic distillery name from a hot country, the bottles were a little dusty, with one upside down in the little space that was left.   What a find!  But what to do?  Cave in to dumpster diving, leave be, pour them out and recycle the bottles…some many options.  My head was spinning!

What it really did was get me thinking about my old writing circles, how the prompts we were given would stir up all kinds of stories, and the pleasure of listening to each woman’s version or experience.  There was always magic there, stories that seemed to flow together with a common theme over and above the prompt in front of us, the heads nodding in agreement, “yes, me too,” the circle becoming more intimate with each story. 

The writing circles were also we played with Found Things, after reading about this latest trend in the NY Times.  We all had fun gathering, hunting, and trying to catagorize our own Found Things.  I considered myself an expert, having been a long-time admirer of Pippi Longstocking and her adventures in Thing-Finding with her demure, sheltered neighbor children, Peter and Anika.   I was much more like Anika than I cared to admit (read: no fun), so studied hard to be Pippi Longstocking.  I have succeeded somewhat.

So now I offer up this Found Thing, this crate of liquor left as an offering in a dumpster, from someone who had to throw it away, but still saw value in it, we can see who will take it or not, or what other options anyone can come up with.  Share some of your stories with me, but keep them short. 

Thanks for playing.

 

Entry filed under: Writing. Tags: , , , .

Creek Watch, Day 3 Isn’t this beautiful?

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. incidentalice  |  April 1, 2010 at 10:54 pm

    My friend Robert found a crate of (unopened) margarita mix by his front doorstep once. He took it as a sign and had a great evening.

    Reply
  • 3. blackwatertown  |  July 5, 2010 at 5:51 pm

    What’s wrong with “saving” discards from the dumpster. I got an elaborate wooden mantle piece that way. Bikes come from the village dump. It all reduces landfill.
    Anyway – today, round the clear glass bottle recycling bin (which was full) was an arracy on cognac bottles. Who can afford so much of that in the first place? I was dumping cardboard.

    Reply
    • 4. ericahostetler  |  July 6, 2010 at 8:19 am

      I know it’s my own issue about dumpster diving, although I have rescued a thing or two – it’s the aura of dirt and yuck that goes with it that I have a problem with. My town also has an informal code that items placed in the grassy band between the sidewalk and road is free for the taking, and I’ve benefited from that a lot. I do prefer to liberate things from the trash and am an avid composter (that dirt and guck is somehow different).

      Thanks for reading, by the way.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


April 2010
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
2627282930  

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


