Tea Bag Wisdom

February 25, 2010 at 9:09 pm Leave a comment

From my Yogi Tea bag tag: 

To learn, read

To know, write

To master, teach.

I am so glad to be back to writing, even if it becomes hard or tedious or another full-time job.  I am almost hoping that my current job comes to a screeching halt so I really have to find something else to do, but then, the last time I wished long and hard, bemoaning the gently used condition of my car bumpers, I got new ones, thanks to a narrow road and a small bus.  I want writing to be my real job like Pinocchio wanted to be a real boy.  He got his wish and a book and movie out of it!

The trouble is, I like to be comfortable so I can leisurely do things like walk through the snowy woods, sit in the magic circle I created and listen to the wind and creaking of the trees, or watch the birds take turns at the suet feeder as the cat chatters at them.  It’s hard to let go of a safety net and fly off into worlds unknown.  I know, though, that it often takes a little fear and some bold leaps to really get to those places of inspiration.  Being in charge of that motivation is a little harder than when life just surprises me and I have to react.  I have confidence in my ability to think quickly.  In taking risks and leaps of faith I need a little more practice.

A little afraid? Well let’s see if you can…try just a little .  Little Fear = Great Accomplishments.

 Little Fear:  I’ll look stupid.

Great Accomplishment:  Comfortable with, and able to laugh at myself.

 Little Fear:  I’ll get it wrong.

Great Accomplishment:  I’ll have something in common with Edison.

 LF:  I won’t amount to anything.

GA: I am already someone, I have persevered.

 LF: It doesn’t matter.

GA:  I haven’t asked enough people.  Talk to people to whom I’ve made a difference  and see what they say.

 LF:  No, really, I’ll look stupid

GA:  Who cares?  What ego-god is looking down on me, holding up a score card on each of my acts while off-camera statisticians work out my ranking at the end of the day?  “She started out strong on Monday with a 2, but by Tuesday when everyone else made it to work but she took a snow day, she bolted up to an 8 on the Stupid Meter.”  Who cares?  Did I have a good day?  Yes.  Am I refreshed and accomplished a lot at work the next day?  Yes.  So what’s so bad about that?

So maybe it’s time to take my very good advice – thank you Alice in Wonderland – and listen to a wiser being than that critic in my head who seems to only want to caution me and make sure that each failure is met with an “I told you so.”  I think not.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , .

Paying Attention Color Me Winter

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


February 2010
M T W T F S S
    Mar »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 6 other followers


